By: Wood Design & Building Magazine  09-12-2011
Keywords: Wood, lumber

Entries should consist of building projects that show a wide range of wood product applications and demonstrate an understanding of the special qualities of wood, such as strength, durability, beauty and cost-effectiveness.

A jury of prominent architects from Canada and the U.S. will review all entries based on various considerations such as creativity, appropriate use of wood materials in satisfying clients’ building and site requirements, innovative design. Winners will be divided into the following categories :


     Category 1
    Non-residential – Institutional
Non-residential – Commercial Small & Large
Category 2
    Residential – Single Family
Residential – Multi Family

    Category 3
    Architectural Interiors

    Category 4
    Remodeled – Non Residential
Remodeled – Residential

    Category 5
    Other – Exterior Structures, Bridges etc.

    Category 6
    International Building

    Category 7
    Special Awards

The Non-Residential category includes, but is not limited to, offices, shopping centers, restaurants, stores, churches, motels, hotels, schools, libraries, recreational buildings, fire halls, medical clinics, hospitals, storage facilities, research laboratories, factories and warehouses.

The Residential category includes, but is not limited to, single-family detached dwellings and multi-family projects such as duplexes, garden homes, apartments, condominiums, dormitories, low-cost housing and seniors’ residences.

Entries for remodeled buildings may involve modifications to the building exterior, interior or both. Kitchen and bathroom modifications alone are not eligible, nor are single room improvements that do not include structural changes. Landscaping projects and other outdoor works are also eligible; however, the use of wood should have architectural merit.

The Architectural Interior Design category includes significant use of wood finishing in any type of building interior.

The International Building category includes all buildings, both non-residential and residential, that are designed by a North American architectural firm and built abroad.

For the Architectural Interior Design category, wood products such as panels, boards and millwork should have significant use as decorative finish materials.

Submitted projects will also be considered for Special Awards such as the Canadian Wood Award (sponsored by the Canadian Wood Council) and other awards/citations. 


The use of wood as a primary, but not necessarily exclusive, structural material is the overriding criterion for project eligibility. All types of residential and non-residential buildings are eligible. Landscaping projects and other outdoor works are also eligible; however, the use of wood should have architectural merit. Mention should be made of all green building attributes. In remodeled structures, only the new additional or renovated portions of existing buildings require an overall wood structural component.

Projects need not include all of these applications but should demonstrate a variety of them.


Buildings should have mainly a wood structure of light frame, heavy timber or a combination that makes use of sawn lumber, and/or engineered wood such as glued-laminated timber, laminated veneer lumber, parallel strand lumber, I-joists and panels.


Wood siding, wood panel products, patterned lumber, wood shingles or shakes are preferred but not essential.  Other claddings can also be used.  Wood or clad wood windows and doors, mouldings and trim are preferred but are not essential.  Wood decks, trellises, gazebos and landscape features used to enhance a building are not in themselves eligible.


Wood doors, mouldings, paneling, flooring and cabinets that enhance the building interior will be considered, however, for the Interior Design category, project interiors must show significant use of these elements to be considered.


Honor, Merit and Citation Awards are available in each category and will be given at the discretion of the jury. Framed Award certificates will be distributed in the spring of 2012.

Entry Fees

Special Fees for subscribers to Wood Design & Building magazine:
First Entry- $175, Subsequent Entries- $165

Regular fees for non-subscribers: First Entry- $190 [includes a one-year subscription to Wood Design & Building], Subsequent Entries- $175

The information in this article was current at 06 Dec 2011

Keywords: lumber, Wood

Contact Wood Design & Building Magazine


Print this page

Other products and services from Wood Design & Building Magazine



With WoodWorks® Sizer, you can size beams, joists, columns and wall studs to meet the CSA O86-01 Standard. With WoodWorks® Connections, you can design new connections or check the capacity of existing ones. With WoodWorks® Shearwalls, you can perform complete shearwall design and lateral load analysis. Export elements from Concept Mode for further analysis into either Beam Mode or Column Mode.