Blue Bunny

By: Blue Bunny  09-12-2011
Keywords: Food Service, Ice Cream, Bunny Ice Cream

What does it mean for a product to be gluten-free?

The January 23, 2007 edition of the Federal Register contained a notice of proposed rule making to define the use of the term "gluten-free" for voluntary use for food labeling, to mean that the food does not contain any of the following: An ingredient that is any species of the grains wheat, rye, barley or a crossbred hybrid of these grains, an ingredient derived from them and that has not been processed to remove the gluten, or that has been processed to remove the gluten but more than 20 ppm remains. In addition, a food made from oats that bears a gluten-free claim in its labeling would be deemed misbranded if the claim suggests that all such foods are gluten-free or if 20 ppm or more of gluten is present in the food.

What Blue Bunny products are gluten-free?

Obvious gluten-containing ingredients in Blue Bunny® products include items with cones, wafers, cookies, brownies, cookie dough, bisque and pretzels. For the safety of our customers, if any ingredient such as a flavoring, stabilizer, emulsifier, color or coating contains gluten, it will be named in the ingredient statement. In general, Blue Bunny® products are gluten-free unless they contain obvious gluten-containing ingredients or gluten content is otherwise noted in a product's ingredient statement.

What steps are taken to ensure all allergens are listed on Blue Bunny product nutrition labels?

The Quality Assurance Department reviews weekly production orders to ensure non-allergen products are manufactured first. When bulk flavors are produced, flavors are arranged in an order that prevents one flavor from being contaminated by the preceding flavor. If the possibility exists, an equipment washout is performed. In the rare instance where a flavor change is made on a novelty run during a shift, the same procedure is followed. Ordinarily, the same product is run on a novelty line for an entire shift; the machine is then dismantled, scrubbed and sanitized before the next shift. All products are placed on a hold and release program until all tests have been completed. Federal, state and military personnel inspect all of our facilities regularly.

What is the feature flavor program and when are the flavors released?

Blue Bunny® Premium Critic's Choice and Limited Edition flavors are made in limited quantities and debut periodically throughout the year wherever Blue Bunny ice cream is sold.

Where can I find Blue Bunny® ice cream and novelties?

You can find Blue Bunny® products in supermarkets, food service establishments (restaurants, educational institutions, hospitals, etc.), convenience stores, vending outlets (neighborhood Ice cream trucks and events) and military commissaries. People are often surprised to find out that Wells products are not only found in the United States, but in markets all around the world.

What types of products do you offer?

The Blue Bunny® label carries a variety of products in the frozen dairy line, including ice cream, frozen yogurt, sherbet, and novelties.

In which countries are Blue Bunny® products sold?

Besides the United States, Blue Bunny® products are sold throughout the world, including Latin America, Mexico and the Pacific Rim.

How do I open the 1.75 Quart Premium Ice Cream container?

  1. Find the tab marked "Remove"
    located just above the yellow arrow.
  2. Pull tab completely off.
  3. Remove the colored lid.
  4. Enjoy!

Keywords: Bunny Ice Cream, Food Service, Ice Cream,

Contact Blue Bunny

Email - none provided

Print this page